IE stuck on Office 365 Login Screen

I had a user report that he could not use Internet Explorer to access SharePoint, only Chrome, so I asked what error he was seeing, and he replied “none – just a blank screen.” (This customer was using SharePoint Online.) I remoted in and saw that when IE would try to go to SharePoint, redirect to the Office 365 Login, authenticate, and then stop on a blank, white screen with the word “Continue” at the top.

Sure enough, I was able  to reproduce this problem. It was happening in IE 11, both 32-bit and 64-bit. Running as admin didn’t help. I ended up finding a fix posted here:

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/ie/forum/ie11-iewindows8_1/ie11-cannot-load-office-365-portal-seriously/f8a29961-49b7-4798-a3c7-eb57db276bea?auth=1 

The answer that worked for this situation was resetting Internet Explorer to its default settings:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-in/internet-explorer/reset-ie-settings#ie=ie-11

Now, in the past I’ve encountered a HUGE share of browser problems. Here’s some steps to try for Internet Explorer wierdness:

  1. Is the site trusted? Check your trusted sites.
  2. Something stuck in the cache? Clear it.
  3. A bad cookie? Check your cookies. Get rid of anything suspect.
  4. Try IE 32-bit and IE 64-bit.
  5. Try running IE as Admin.
  6. Open the Developer toolbar and put IE in an earlier mode, like IE9.
  7. And my final tip — DO NOT USE EDGE.

It is sad that IE and SharePoint don’t play better together, but that is just how it is. Personally, I use Chrome unless I absolutely have to use IE, but lately Chrome has become a memory hog and does wierd things like not shutting down correctly. Running incognito is less error prone. Just my 2 cents on that. 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment